Skip to main content

Governor - Public Officials' Commissions - County Officials Commissions Registers

Identifier: 001-02-035-1

Scope and Contents

This series consists of registers that record the commissions issued by the Governor to the County Ordinary to acknowledge and verify duly elected county officials. A commission was sent with a dedimus potestatem from the Governor to the county ordinary who conferred the oath of office and returned a portion of the dedimus potestatem as a verification of qualification to the Secretary of State, to confirm the candidate for office. The county officers confirmed in this series include: (1) the Ordinary (Probate Judge), (2) Clerk of the Superior Court, (3) Sheriff, (4) Tax Collector, (5) R.T.R. (Receiver of Tax Returns), (6) Surveyor, (7) Coroner, and (8) Treasurer. The registers, originated and retained in the Governor's Office, record the date of the commission, the candidate's name, the office, qualification date, random remarks, and reasons for resignation or replacement. Additional series in the Governor's Office register the commissions of other duly elected officials such as members of the General Assembly and State Executive Officers. Each volume covers a specific time period.


  • Created: 1799-1956


Conditions Governing Access



4.90 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials


Arrangement Note

Within each volume the commissions are arranged alphabetically by county and within each county by the date of the commission's issuance.

Governor - Public Officials' Commissions - County Officials Commissions Registers
Georgia Archives
Description rules
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Georgia Archives Repository

5800 Jonesboro Rd
Morrow GA 30260 United States